Insights & POVs... what are they, how do we get them?

Been struggling with my team mate to come up with a section for a course … we’re stuck at the sense-making process and how to teach (coach? guide?) participants to see/generate/refine insights and frame problems and point of view statements?

Driving us nuts to try to put some framework around something so intuitive. Anyone got suggestions? Thank you!

I hear you! Design synthesis is haaaaard. Is this course for complete beginners? Or people who are familiar and/or done projects in design thinking?

A mixture but mostly beginners but at Director & Manager levels. 2 day long. We would like to ‘gift’ them a few key tools so they can begin to apply design thinking concepts & tools in their day to day work. So far we are focussing on Journey Mapping as the main tool but we still lack a good tool/activity to help with the insights/reframing phase…

For beginners, I’ll go with just 1 or 2 of the most easy tools to pick up - the empathy map and journey map are good ones for beginners.

But these tools would be a lot less effective if they didn’t know how to discuss/facilitate the discussion themselves. So usually I also throw in the usual “how to cluster and find themes” explanation, as well as 5 Whys method. Mindtools have a good explanation and video of 5 Whys. I’m always surprised how people (perhaps in their eagerness and pragmatism towards solutioning) tend to jump to straight to solutions based on what the user said on the ‘surface’, when it’s actually more helpful to discuss and probe deeper using the 5 Whys to get at latent, unarticulated needs.

Collected a whole bunch of tools for design synthesis here:
https://publicdesignvault.com/collection/synthesis/

Does this make sense?